Skip to main content

Science Diplomacy 2015: Scientific Drivers for Diplomacy - Resources

The emergence of science diplomacy as an active area of study and policy consideration has increased its use and users. Concepts such as the role of large-scale infrastructures in science diplomacy and the mechanisms for scientific cooperation needed in undertaking science diplomacy have become recognized as important to bridging the scientific and foreign policy communities. At the same time, different scientific disciplines have unique contributions and needs as their international efforts become more intertwined with those of the foreign policy and diplomatic communities. The AAAS Center for Science Diplomacy hosted a one-day conference that built not only on the policy issues that have been discussed in previous conferences and workshops but critically addressed the scientific drivers for diplomacy. 

Read the full report of the April 29, 2015 event and access specific session resources, such as videos and presentations, below.


Opening Plenary
Rush Holt, CEO of AAAS (Video)
Flavia Schlegel, Assistant Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (Video)

Earth and Environmental Sciences
Chair – Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service
Rita Colwell, University of Maryland (Video | Presentation)
Thomas Lovejoy, George Mason University (Video) 
Robert Megginson, University of Michigan (Video | Presentation)
Q&A/Discussion (Video)

Bio and Health
Chair – Jason Rao, American Society for Microbiology
John Allen, Yale University (Video | Presentation)
Gail Cassell, IDRI and Harvard University (Video)
Valery N. Danilenko, Vavilov Institute of General Genetics
Dmitry Maslov, Vavilov Institute of General Genetics (Video | Presentation)
Mark Rasenick, University of Illinois at Chicago ( Video | Presentation)
Q&A/Discussion (Video)

Chair – E. William Colglazier, AAAS
E. Ercan Alp, Argonne National Laboratory (Video | Presentation)
Amy Flatten, American Physical Society(Video | Presentation)
Patricia McBride, Fermilab (Video | Presentation)
Ethan Schreier, Associated Universities, Inc. and Johns Hopkins University 

Transboundary and Shared Resources
Chair – Paul Berkman, University of California, Santa Barbara, and University of Cambridge (Video | Presentation)
David Balton, U.S. Department of State (Video | Presentation)
Timothy Dye, University of Rochester  
Kristina Gjerde, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey (Video | Presentation )
Q&A/Discussion (Video)

Institutions and Networks
Chair – Marga Gual Soler, AAAS
Zafra Lerman, Malta Conferences Foundation (Video | Presentation)
Romain Murenzi, The World Academy of Sciences (Video | Presentation)
Maria Uhle, National Science Foundation (Video | Presentation)
Q&A/Discussion (Video)

Cooperation During Political Strain
Chair – Frances Colón, U.S. Department of State
James Hammond, Imperial College London
Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service (Video)
Sergio Pastrana, Academy of Sciences of Cuba (Video | Presentation)


Program Steering Committee

Vaughan Turekian (chair), AAAS
Paul Berkman, University of California, Santa Barbara, and University of Cambridge
Cathleen Campbell, CRDF Global
E. William Colglazier, AAAS
Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service
Jason Rao, American Society for Microbiology
Tom Wang, AAAS

Related Focus Areas