Skip to main content

Government Relations Staff

Office Contact Information:
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Office of Government Relations
1200 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20005

Phone: 202/326-6600
Fax: 202/289-4950


Joanne Padrón Carney

Chief Government Relations Office and Director, Office of Government Relations


Erin Heath

Director, Federal Relations


Sean Gallagher

Senior Government Relations Officer

Daniel Barry

Daniel Barry

Local and State Advocacy Director

Headshot of Gwendolyn Bogard

Gwendolyn Bogard

Government Relations Associate

Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy (COSEPP)

Appointed by AAAS's Board of Directors, COSEPP members review the Association’s public policy activities, alert AAAS to S&T policy issues that they see coming over the horizon, oversee the annual AAAS Forum on Science and Technology Policy and sponsor other activities such as symposia and workshops at the AAAS Annual Meeting to help scientists and engineers communicate more effectively with policymakers.

Committee Members

Gilda Barabino
Olin College of Engineering

Vanessa Chan
University of Pennsylvania

Mary Maxon (Chair)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Michelle McMurry-Heath 
Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO)

Jason Matheny 
Georgetown University

Kathie L. Olsen 
KLO International, LLC

Tim Profeta 
Duke University

Ann Reid 
National Center for Science Education

Tobin Smith 
Association of American Universities

Kate Stoll 
MIT Washington Office

Irving Wladawsky-Berger

Board Liaison

Bill Provine 
DuPont Experimental Station