Skip to main content

BMENA Bioscience Forum

BMENA Bioscience Forum – Members of Interim Executive Committee

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is pleased to announce the creation of the BMENA Bioscience Forum, and its Interim Executive Committee, forum that resulted from a workshop series funded by the U.S. Department of State and held in the broader Middle East and North Africa (BMENA) region.

From 2010 to 2012, the AAAS Center for Science, Technology and Security Policy convened scientists and institutional officials from the BMENA region, Brazil, France, Italy, the United Kingdom and the United States, to a series of workshops under the theme of “International Engagement: Responsible Bioscience for a Safe and Secure Society”. The workshops were held in Jordan, Kuwait, Tunisia, and United Arab Emirates. At the last workshop, participants expressed the interest to further the discussion on issues of international collaboration and responsible science (ethics, safety and security) by creating a network, called the BMENA Bioscience Forum. The following individuals volunteered to serve on the Forum’s Interim Executive Committee (IEC):

  • Hayfaa Almudhaf
    Senior advisor in the Office of the Director General at Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, Kuwait
  • Alexander Abdelnoor, Ph.D.
    Professor and chairman of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the American University of Beirut, Lebanon
  • Ayesha Mohammed Abdullah, Ph.D.
    Managing director of the Sciences Cluster of TECOM Investments Business Parks, United Arab Emirates
  • Abdelaziz Qaid Ali, Ph.D.
    Assistant professor of microbiology at the University of Science and Technology, Yemen
  • Abdelaziz Qaid Ali, Ph.D.
    Assistant professor of microbiology at the University of Science and Technology, Yemen
  • James J. Casey, Jr., J.D.
    Assistant VP for Sponsored Project Administration, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Saied Jaradat, Ph.D.
    Director of the HRH Princess Haya Biotechnology Centre at the Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan
  • Mona Mostafa Mohamed, Ph.D.
    Associate professor of Physiology and Molecular Biology Department of zoology, Faculty of Science Cairo University Giza, Egypt
  • Irene Anne Jillson, Ph.D.
    Professor at Georgetown University, USA
  • Ara Tahmassian, Ph.D.
    Associate vice president for research compliance at Boston University, USA

Sub?committees have been formed to facilitate successful development of the network.

  1. Chairs for Training Committee
    Dr. Jaradat & Dr. Tahmassian (BU)
    Assisted with: Dr. Qaid Ali & Dr. Jillson
  2. Chairs for Governance Committee
    Dr. Abdelnoor & Mr. Casey
  3. Chairs for Annual Meeting Committee
    Ms. Almudhaf & Dr. Abdullah
  4. Chairs for Website Committee
    To be recruited
  5. Chairs for Fundraising Committee
    Dr. Abdullah & Ms. Coat

AAAS CSTSP staff are non?members of the IEC (except one) and are facilitating and coordinating the efforts of the IEC and its initial activities. AAAS has no formal role in growing and sustaining the  network. AAAS CSTSP staff serving as facilitators are:

  • Norman Neureiter, Ph.D.
    Acting Director
  • Kavita Berger, Ph.D.,
    Associate Program Director
  • Jennifer McArdle,
    Program Associate
  • Peter Kelly, Ph.D.
    Program Associate
  • Gwenaële Coat, M.Sc.
    Senior Program Associate, IEC Ex Officio