Skip to main content


The section steering committee comprises the secretary, chair, nominations/leadership development chair, membership engagement chair, early career representative, non-academic representative, council member and two members-at-large. The steering committee’s responsibilities include nomination and review of Fellow nominations, and proposal of symposia for the AAAS Annual Meeting.

For a listing of section officers, click on the sections below.

Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources (Section O)
Anthropology (Section H)
Astronomy (Section D)
Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences (Section W)
Biological Sciences (Section G)
Chemistry (Section C)
Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences (Section R)
Education (Section Q)
Engineering (Section M)
General Interest in Science and Engineering (Section Y)
Geology and Geography (Section E)
History and Philosophy of Science (Section L)
Industrial Science and Technology (Section P)
Information, Computing, and Communication (Section T)
Linguistics and Language Science (Section Z)
Mathematics (Section A)
Medical Sciences (Section N)
Neuroscience (Section V)
Pharmaceutical Sciences (Section S)
Physics (Section B)
Psychology (Section J)
Social, Economic, and Political Sciences (Section K)
Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering (Section X)
Statistics (Section U)


Join Sections

All individual members of AAAS can join up to three Sections. Sections are a great way to network with other members while participating in the AAAS Annual Meeting, and providing our leadership with expertise on issues of importance within the scientific community. 

To join or update your Section affiliations, login and select “Edit My Sections.”

Related Scientific Disciplines